The Seven Schools of the Seminary


Scarborough College lays a foundation on which God-called men and women can build a lifetime of ministry by equipping them to think biblically, reason truthfully, and share God's Word effectively. The college's rigorous academic program is rooted in Scripture and geared toward cultivating godly character and deploying students to proclaim the Gospel to the lost and make disciples of all nations.

The School of Theology provides foundational theological education for the ever-widening circle of Christian ministry. This training is designed to prepare the student for effective pastoral ministry and other ministries of the church and to correlate the content and practice of the Christian faith.

The School of Preaching provides theological training in expository preaching to prepare God-called men to preach the Word. The curriculum is designed to train students in text-driven preaching which is the communication of a biblical text through a sermon that is based on the substance, structure, and spirit of the text.

The Fish School of Evangelism and Missions trains students to share the gospel of Jesus Christ both at home and abroad through degrees focused on evangelism, missions, Islamic studies, and church planting.

The Terry School of Church and Family Ministries is characterized by an energetic pioneering spirit that seeks to explore new and exciting frontiers in Christian Education. The school sets forth the place of education in the work of the church and emphasizes philosophy and principles of education, counseling, administration, and other expressions of Christian ministry.

The School of Church Music has led in providing church musicians for the denomination and is firmly committed to the philosophy that the local church is crucial in Christian work. The school emphasizes professional excellence and practical ministry.

The Havard School for Theological Studies, Houston, Texas. In 1975, Southwestern established an extension site for seminary studies on the Houston Baptist University campus as a joint endeavor with Houston Baptist University, and the Correlating Committee of the Colorado, Creath-Brazos, Galveston, Gulf Coast, San Felipe, San Jacinto, Trinity River, Tryon-Evergreen, and Union Baptist Associations. In 2002 the Park Place Baptist Church gave their facilities to the Seminary as a site for extension studies. In October 2003 the trustees named the campus at Park Place the J. Dalton Havard Center in honor of the Houston-based evangelist. In April 2004 they voted to give the center the status of the fourth school of the Seminary and named Dr. Denny Autrey as the first Dean of the new Havard School. At this site students can earn the B.S.B.S., M.Div., M.A.C.E., and M.A.(Th.) degrees without attending classes at the campus in Fort Worth. In 2011 the Havard School began offering the B.S.B.S. in the Darrington Prison in Rosharon, TX.

Local Communities

The main campus of Southwestern Seminary is located in Fort Worth, Texas, a city with extensive educational, cultural, and recreational facilities. Fort Worth is known as the city "where the West begins" and is famous for its friendly western hospitality. Together with Dallas, Fort Worth is an integral part of a growing metropolitan and industrial complex. The Fort Worth-Dallas area comprises the sixth largest population center in the nation, with a combined total of approximately four million citizens.

Students at the Havard School in Houston, Texas enjoy a distinct metropolitan city which is home to more than 4.7 million people. The greater Houston area is the nation's fourth largest city. The city's strong economy leads to a diverse population with more than 90 language groups represented within the city's population. Houston is located on the upper Gulf Coast, 50 miles from the Gulf of Mexico.

Established 1908 Fort Worth, Texas